Books on the train

Tokyo is the number one largest city in the world in terms of land area, population and density. Pretty exciting stuff. So as you can imagine, commuting from one suburb to another can take a lifetime. My commute is 90 min each way.

For the first couple of weeks it bummed me out that I was commuting for 3 hours a day. But I quickly got used to it, and now I have been using the time to read some epic books. 3 hours designated to reading every single day has been pretty fantastic, to be honest.

Here are my recommendations if you find yourself on a super long commute.

the_name_of_the_wind_uk_coverThe Kingkiller Chronicles – Patrick Rothfuss

I have never been exceptionally interested in epic fantasy novels, except for Lord of the Rings of course. However, Rothfuss has been able to create an incredibly engaging and intricate fantasy world. The story follows Kvothe, a famous adventurer recounting his story to the Chronicler. Expect drama, magic and ale drinking peasants.

Each novel clocks in at over 1000 pages so its perfect for long commutes with hours to kill. I often found myself wishing my stop was another ten minutes away so I could keep on reading.

babe2Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë

A classic. One of the most beautiful novels written. Jane and Rochester, from now until forever. I first read Jane Eyre when I was 9 years old and I have reread it every year since then. Reading it on the train in Tokyo, I could be in my home in England.

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

-Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë

room

Room – Emma Donoghue

Told from the perspective of a young boy whose entire existence is spent in a small room in which he and his mother is held captive. Expect gut wrenchs and heart break. Once I finished Room I had no choice but too immediately pick it up and read it again.

Maybe not the ideal book for me on a commute, imagine a sobbing girl and streaming nose.

Thank you so much for reading! Please comment with suggestions for more books for my commute!

Leave a Reply

