Sunday funday in Kamakura

I am now 10 weeks into my year long adventure in Japan. So far, Kamakura remains my favourite weekend spot. I am super lucky to live only one train ride away from this beach side. This sunday, the temp soared to 35 °C (95°F) in Tokyo. So we ditched the city and headed for the shore.

It’s getting close to peak summer season so vendors have set up temporary beach huts and bars along the sea front. Its very kitschy and cool. You can rent cabins for a full day, have spa treatments and most importantly, drink cocktails right on the sand.

13575612_10153537205196338_1221610391_o

The water was warmer than I had imagined so we were able to spend most on morning splashing in the waves. Heaps of surfers, board borderes and windsurfers were also out when the swell picked up in the mid afternoon.

We swam, ate and drank. I went to bed very burnt, but very happy.

13575705_10209322770729381_1769526554_o

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. anniefisher97 says:

    I love your blog so much! And we’re doing the exact same thing! (Well I’m still trying to find a job but anyway haha) I’m living in Yokohama and after reading your post, Kamakura and Enoshima are now on today’s agenda!! Can’t wait to hit up the seaside for a break away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

    Like

Leave a Reply

