Foreign sky

“You are the trip I did not take, you are the pearls I could not buy,
you are my blue Italian lake, you are my piece of foreign sky.

You are my Honolulu moon, you are the book I did not write,
you are my heart’s unuttered tune, you are a candle in my night.

You are the flower beneath the snow, in my dark sky a bit of blue,
answering disappointment’s blow with “I am happy! I have you!”

-Anne Campbell, 1983

Anne Campbell is without a doubt, one of my all-time favourite poets. A poignant reminder when faced with disappointment, ‘I am happy! I have you!’ 

Happy saturday to all you beautiful people 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sweet yet sour poem! Sweet because of the last line and I mean sour because of the disappointment part. Yet, it is a really beautiful poem 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

