#Flashback – Phú Quốc Island

I was very fortunate to have 4 months in-between my TEFL course in Cambodia and starting my new teaching position in Tokyo. I have used this time to travel across South East Asia, which is partly why my finances are so depleted now!

One of my favourite destinations was Phú Quốc, a Vietnamese Island off the Gulf of Thailand. It was slightly out of the way, but it isn’t a very expensive flight from Ho Chi Minh city. All of our flights were delayed, but thats South East Asia for you! I haven’t had a single flight that wasn’t delayed by an hour so far. Phú Quốc was worth the wait in the airport, it is truly one of the most beautiful places in the entire world. Miles of white sandy beaches and clear blue water.

12948619_10208637065467178_1971412813_o

I spent most of my time on Phú Quốc drinking dark rum mojitos and relaxing on the beach. I also found an INCREDIBLE breakfast stop, where I was able to indulge in homemade granola and yogurt. A real treat after 12 weeks travelling South East Asia! One of my favourite days on Phú Quốc was a boat trip around the smaller islands where I snorkelled, caught fresh fish and met some other fun travellers.

12948500_10208637065347175_1093639559_o

The boat trip also included visiting a floating fresh fish market, which was a pretty incredible sight. The market consisted of 4 wooden structures with netted gaps in the water where different fish swam. As we walked around the market, other boats moored up to the structure to collect their fish for lunch. The market featured sea urchins, which I had never seen before. The market tenders would hack off the spikes from the outside of the urchin with a machete and eat the round centre. It was pretty insane. I would 100% recommend spending the extra money on a boat trip around the smaller islands. Not only was it a really exciting day, but it was a great way to explore the local area and meet some new people.

12959409_10208637065667183_1969712837_o

My absolute favourite experience on the island was swimming in the Suối Tranh waterfalls. I can not overhype this enough. It was such a fun day! I visited in the dry season, so the waterfalls were not as big as we had hoped, but it was still the most amazing experience. There were no other tourists, so me and my boyfriend had the entire waterfall to ourselves. It’s quite a trek from the entrance and a taxi from the popular hostels and hotels is quite expensive, but it is worth the effort. Sunlight filters through the dense jungle and all you can hear is the rush of the waterfall. We brought a picnic and spent all afternoon swimming in the cool waters of the waterfall.

 

Thank you so much for reading! Phú Quốc is definitely worth a visit!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. shybackpack says:

    Phu Quoc looks incredible. So true about South East Asian flights. I’ve been flying around Vietnam, Thailand, and Taiwan this past year and haven’t once had an on time flight haha

    Like

    1. Japan Living says:

      I know, the flights are so funny! There isn’t ever a need to rush to the airport! Wow, what is Taiwan like? I’d love to travel to Taiwan.

      Like

  2. SaraRozic says:

    Wish I were there 🙂

    Like

    1. Japan Living says:

      It is very beautiful! 🙂

      Like

  3. Looks like you had a wonderful time. I will have to visit that island if I go back to Vietnam.

    Like

  4. It’s bad that all your flights were delayed because it rarely happens to me though I travel a lot :). However, sounds you had an enjoyed time and experienced Robinson day at Suoi Tranh (:D). It’s amazing water fall, right? The name Suoi Tranh means Picture Stream – beautiful as pictured.

    Like

Leave a Reply

